Home » Blog Posts » Pristanski Re-Elected as Chair of the Terry Fox Foundation

Pristanski Re-Elected as Chair of the Terry Fox Foundation

November 21, 2016

At the Terry Fox Foundation Annual General Meeting held in Burnaby, British Columbia, William Pristanski was re-elected as chair of the board. In his chair’s report, Pristanski highlighted the excellent work of the Audit and Finance, Investment, and Nominations and Governance committees.

He commented that the Foundation was looking forward to Canada 150 with optimism. There will be many opportunities to showcase Terry’s accomplishments and legacy during Canada’s birthday celebration. The family has already approved a new stamp that will be launched by Canada Post in Terry’s honour. The Marathon of Hope musical will play to audiences in Southern Ontario and a Terry Fox exhibition will be featured in Victoria, B.C. The Foundation anticipates increasing awareness and fundraising during this special year for Canada.

And the Foundation is proud to support the Terry Fox Research Institute’s (TFRI) efforts to establish the Terry Fox Canadian Comprehensive Cancer Centre (TF4CN). The TFRI will be soon announcing their network pilot project with the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and B.C. Cancer Agency.

The Terry Fox Foundation is an international organization whose mission is to maintain the vision and principles of Terry Fox while raising money for cancer research through the annual Terry Fox Run, Terry’s CAUSE on Campus, School Run Day and other fundraising initiatives. To date, more than $700 million has been raised worldwide in Terry Fox’s name to fund the most promising and innovative cancer research in Canada. The Foundation’s national headquarters are located on the Simon Fraser University campus in Burnaby, B.C. and it has offices in 9 provinces. For more information visit terryfox.org.

Since 1981, William Pristanski has run in all 36 annual Terry Fox Runs, personally raising more than half a million dollars for cancer research. In 2010 he was awarded one of twelve iRun Awards by iRun magazine for his 30 consecutive Terry Fox runs.